About the branch

This is the Unison website for members working at the University of Sussex, Sussex Estates and Facilities and the University of Sussex Students’ Union. You will be able to find updates, news and much more in regards to the branch, the local area and the Trade Union movement. Members can contact us confidentially through the Contact Form.

Your branch committee

The committee is made up of your colleagues at Sussex who have been democratically elected to help run the branch, alongside their usual staff role. Head to our ‘Meet the committee’ page to get to know us a bit better, with short introductions and why the trade union movement is important to us.

Officers are elected each year at the AGM and anyone can put themselves up for election. Contact us to find out more if you are interested in a role, particularly those that are vacant.

For general enquiries, please get in touch with our branch email address: Unisonsussexuniversity@gmail.com
If you would like direct your query to a specific committee member or area rep, select the relevant name below.

Branch Officer Name
Branch Secretary Holly Foster
Branch Chair Will Hughes
Deputy Branch Chair Gemma Harman
Treasurer David Gillman
Membership Officer Luke Murphy
Health and Safety Officer Tom Vidler
Recruitment Officer Jamil Haris
Eve Wilcox
Equalities Officer VACANT
Communications Officer Chloe Jacob
Welfare Officer Kathy O’Regan
Education Officer Julie Applin
International Officer Gaymarie Crane
LGBTQ Officer Kit Eves
Young Members Officer Ruben Brett
Retired Members Officer Elaine Stephen
Student Union Officer Becca Finney
Lifelong Learning Coordinator Anthony Gorin
Labour Link Officer VACANT
Black Members Officer VACANT
Environmental Officer VACANT
Women’s Officer Holly Blackmore


Area Rep Name
Arts A Holly Foster
Arts C Kit Eves
Pevensey I Leonie Griffiths
Pevesney II Luke Murphy
Falmer House Carmel Stevenson
Library Gaymarie Crane
Student Centre Ruben Brett
Essex House Lisa Williams
Freeman Building Sally Parsons